Some Surprising Facts in Philippine History

The UB suggestion is about cool facts in history. I am a Filipino and I wanted to share this post about six (6) surprising Filipino historical facts.

american-mark-43-nuclear-bomb
American Mark-43 nuclear bomb from Filipiknow.net

The fact that affected me most among the six is the nuclear bomb that fell into the Philippine Sea and it’s still missing. It was only in the 1980s when it was revealed that the Mk. 43 free-fall bomb was lost.

It makes me feel scared, even now, that the weapon which is at least a megaton’s worth of nuclear explosive was never found.  Questions popped into my mind like – How come it is missing?  What if it’s there submerged in the Philippine seabed waiting to explode? What is the chance that it will be triggered to explode? To what extent will the damage caused by explosion spread?