Para la juventud (For the youth)

You seldom read her thoughts but this piece really touched me. It made me uneasy with guilt because there were times that I had doubted her and her attitude. Please do not pass by not reading this. How I wish a considerable number of the youth of this generation will spare time reading:

Para sa Kabataan

It is my deepest sorrow that my literary prowess can not influence you in some jaded way.

With words, I can get these sentiments across to you. With your understanding shall the message only be clear. For it is in us that a great hero1 once regarded the future to. We are the youth who will weave tomorrow for the upcoming generations for we owe it to them. It is our benevolent duty to surpass what is expected, to unearth the lost foundations of Filipino humanity, to lead time to come.

I am happily studying in college and when I’m done with my 1st degree, I’ll take up another. Never in my life have I had this drive to keep on learning, for the world offers so much and yet I have so little time. Back in high school, I couldn’t wait to get my sorry hide out of school and it never occurred to my young, stupid brain that I’m still going to study.

A lot of things changed my perception of my once-hated duty: to study. My school, my course (since my parents supported what I wanted to take up) and the people I found and lost are some factors that sculpted my stubborn brain to what it is right now. It just hit me like a rolling volleyball that all of these books, words and equations are all helping hands in blue-printing my future.

YOU. Yes, you. Has it never occurred to you that you can’t forever hang on your parents’ wallets and credit cards? That you can’t be a burden to them who disregarded their needs and desires just to get you the latest, full-scale camera-cell phone? Let’s face it; we don’t pay for anything (that is if you have some sort of job, then I’m wrong). Technically, literally, our parents pay everything since the day we escaped from our mothers’ wombs ‘til we don’t get cold-cash-paying jobs.

All you need to do is to open your books, read and absorb what you think is non-sense right now. For heaven’s sake, STUDY! If you want to be a garbage man, then don’t. At least that pays. But with your fast-living lifestyle, overspending brigade, minimum wage ain’t enough for urban living.

GIMIK. GIMIK. GIMIK. Hey, there’s more to life than hanging out with your friends, shopping for some over-priced signature items, jamming endlessly for hours and hours and drinking SanMig or whatever beer brand there is. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t do this or that. You just have to know your priorities. If you’ve got your primary obligations set, then go gimik-gaga.

If rebelliousness is a form of laxative2, then feel free to rebel. If you think that you’re gearing away from something normal and that you’re setting a trend, don’t you also think that you’re just copying some old-school renegade teen wearing black band shirts? Then you go around, pretending your some kind of rocker, coloring your nails black, ‘making a statement’. Why? Mostly people protest when their needs and desires aren’t met. Eh ikaw? What have your parents not given to you? Haven’t they provided everything basic and added whatever luxury we don’t need to survive? Plus, they gifted you with education – something that could not be stolen even if your brain were to be removed and dissected.

If this bores and makes you irritated, then it is my conclusion that this is the truth. It wouldn’t hurt to straighten up your ways. If you’re already on that path of being ‘good’, then hey! Saludo ako sa’yo. My gosh, this is very choppy.

1 Jose Rizal

2 drug used to promote bowel movement

 

– written by daughter Kay

16 thoughts on “Para la juventud (For the youth)

  1. hey, nico. ang bilis mo raw magbasa sabi ni Kay. he he

    God willing, she will get what she wants – that her dreams will come true.

    Like

  2. your daughter is very intuitive. buti na lang alam na niya yung mga ganung bagay at her age. good for you, ms. bingskee. maswerte ka talaga sa mga anak mo. 🙂

    both my parents were just ordinary government employees. hindi ko alam kung paano nila kaming 5 napakain, napalaki, napag-aral at naitaguyod hanggang makatapos. of course, with the help of our uncle, we finished schooling. pero kahit na. imagine, feeding a family of 7 on a combined salary of say, Php 20,000 a month lang!

    i'm not a parent yet but i sure want to have kids like yours, ms. bingskee and have a family like mine. hindi man kami rich, rich kami sa values. and i could see that your family has the same. 🙂

    Like

  3. it will always be the pride of parents to see that their kids learn the values they had imparted, directly or indirectly. it is always joy to see how they grow to be responsible individuals.

    we're not rich, too, working to make ends meet. but we're a happy family. it is a great feeling always how we bond with each other. i am blessed to have them.

    Like

  4. wow… well-written..

    may pinagmanahan si daughter ate bing! 🙂 its nice that the youth nowadays (us), would like for our voices to be heard… that we do care evethough we just dont show it.. ^_^

    Like

  5. hi, din-din, hope everybody will understand the pride that I have. guess every parent will feel the same way… 🙂

    hi, karmi, it was prepared for a website. i asked her if i could post it. she obliged.

    very comforting indeed, single. hope to God nothing'll change. 🙂

    i am, lazarus.

    Like

  6. There's a saying that goes -” you can be deceived if we trust too much but we will live in torment if you do not trust enough”. The hardest part of being a parent is conveying our trust to our children.

    Like

  7. Nowadays, it is very hard to inculcate in the minds of (some) the youth how IMPORTANT education is and how IMPORTANT it is to decide NOW what kind of FUTURE they wanted have.
    Glad that Kay knew what path she's gonna take to reach her BRIGHT future.
    Idol kita Miss Bing!

    Like

  8. very true, bw. it is indeed the hardest part but a comforting feeling if we learned how to give this trust.

    i had had difficult times with my daughter, malaya. she is a stubborn lady with a mind of her own. loosening the grip a little is one way of letting her learn the realities in life. glad that she is learning little by little. and hope she remains that steadfast with her goals.

    ngek! ba't naman ako, malaya? 🙂 but that is humbling to know…

    Like

Leave a comment