For Valentine’s Day

I really do not know why I ended up with a title such as the one I have for this post.  It is not really about Valentine’s day.  It would be about my thoughts on the movie Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.  I got the idea when I was browsing for Philippine news online and stumbled upon Dolly Ann Carvajal’s Inquirer Entertainment article Star’s fave romantic films (2).

There is of course an endless list.  Allow me this time to say that accidentally the movie Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind became a favorite.   I vow that I will be watching it again, and again, if time allows.  It stars Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet, as Joel and Clementine, respectively, and it is about two couples whose relationship turned sour and decided to erase each other from their memories.

 

Cover via Amazon

What I have right now is nothing akin to the movie. My husband and I, have differences, which are tolerable, and without anything that will turn it sour (for now – not that I am expecting it).  How things (consequences, situations and conditions) are thought through matter surely, and I am not Clementine, who have that audacity to say and display feelings of boredom that could result to depression or frustration of the partner.

If I will be allowed to add something to the movie, definitely it will be about something telling that the memory of anyone who had been a part of one’s life can never be erased entirely even by the most sophisticated tools of technology.  It is actually the premise I derived watching the movie even though it was clear in the movie that Joel and Clementine do not have clear memory of having known each other.  In my mind, while watching, assumptions were raised, and I found it lovely to think of ‘what if’.

It was also sweet that upon knowing what happened to their love and with thoughts of doubt from Clementine, they decided to try it once more, and start their life together anew.

Here is a part of that scene where Joel  ran after Clementine from his apartment:

[last lines]                                              

Joel: I can’t see anything that I don’t like about you.
Clementine: But you will! But you will. You know, you will think of things. And I’ll get bored with you and feel trapped because that’s what happens with me.
Joel: Okay.
Clementine: [pauses] Okay.

They were laughing afterwards, probably realizing how much they wanted each other even after discovering how their two-year relationship turned, and with those records showing how they volunteered to have each other’s memories erased.

I probably would not resort to that procedure.  Painful memories are still memories. They warp a person’s whole being but they can also serve as MSG or additive to a stronger and reformed human being.  I believe good and bad experiences contribute to one’s resiliency.  I know, I am being naïve, as one of the bosses would say, but given my life and how it turned, with the frills of ‘the undesirable’, I will always stick to that mindset.  Call me a willing victim, if you like.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “For Valentine’s Day

  1. ah, i sometimes wish i can erase decisions that resulted in self-inflicted wounds, but what the heck, they're a part of me. my errors made me who i am now, and i kinda like me. 🙂

    Like

  2. The Kids were extra nice. They worked overnight so we could dub out our airing materials early. Unfortunately, the machine refused to cooperate. It erased one full segment five hours before airing. We made it in time, but we could all have gone home early for some romantic stuff were it not for that machine. Oh well…next year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

