Thursday Two Questions: Halloween

The net was slow so I only get to upload this now. 😀 😀 😀

Halloween is a celebration that is adapted by the Philippines perhaps several years back (I am not really sure).   Every time I am asked about how I celebrate it, I cannot give an answer as I have not really celebrated it except by paying a visit to the graves/tombs before or after  November 1.  November 1 is a holiday for Filipinos and a time to visit their loved ones’ graves.

I took time learning about Halloween.   Wikipedia has this to say:

Halloween or Hallowe’en (a contraction of its original title “All Hallow’s Evening”), also known as All Hallows’ Eve, is a yearly holiday observed around the world on October 31, the eve of the Western Christian feast of All Hallows. Most scholars believe that All Hallows’ Eve was originally influenced by western European harvest festivals and festivals of the dead with pagan roots, particularly the Celtic Samhain others maintain that it originated independently of Samhain.

Typical festive Halloween activities include trick-or-treating (also known as “guising”), attending costume parties, carving pumpkins into jack-o’-lanterns, lighting bonfires, apple bobbing, visiting haunted attractions, playing pranks, telling scary stories, and watching horror films.

A visit to the grave

Here are my answers to a meme at Self Sagacity with two (2) questions:
1. What are your favorite things about Halloween?

Well, if the celebration here in the Philippines about the dead is considered as a Halloween thing then it is seeing relatives again.  This holiday is like a reunion, too, meeting once again relatives that we have not seen for a long time.  There are also food to share, stories to tell, news to bite or not, et al.

2. What was your first experience at a Halloween Party like? (it could be your kids’ or your relative’s)

Honestly, I cannot remembering attending one. 😀

If you want to play this meme, visit Self Sagacity.

That widget can be placed on your post if you decide to participate (just click on it and copy the link . If you do not have a blog, but a social network, you need to follow the rules, no exemption:

Before you link-up,
1) make sure you read the Thursday Two Questions Details Page,
2) you have Two Questions of your own that you posted, or use the Thursday Two Questions from Self Sagacity
3) visit at least two participants and answer their questions – that is how you will create a bond and friendship. Links are monitored & spam will be removed. Thanks for joining us today. (Just click on this link to visit the others.)

8 thoughts on “Thursday Two Questions: Halloween

  1. i sometimes light a candle for my dad and granddad who left eons ago. i pray for them, that they have found peace, after the brutal way life was taken from them. then i pray for relatives and friends, nameless and many. may each second be light and blessed for them.

    Like

  2. i am sorry to hear that, atticus. 😦

    every night of November 1, we light candles and put it outside beside the door. i do not really know what that means. for me, personally, it's my way of saying that they are remembered as i am not really sure that i can do anything for them anymore now that they're gone…

    Like

  3. Hi Bing ~~ This is a nice blog done by WordPress. I am about to move over here because I've used 98% plus of my picture allowance on Google Blogger. Either that or become a new person, new identity, new Blogger blog.

    We celebrate both Halloween on October 31 and Day of the Dead on November 1. Wikipedia has this to say about it: “Day of the Dead (Spanish: Día de los Muertos) is a Mexican holiday celebrated throughout Mexico and around the world in other cultures. The holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember friends and family members who have died. It is particularly celebrated in Mexico, … on November 1.”

    And more. I think it is also partly Catholic in origin.
    ..

    I like the store decorations at Halloween time, they are so pretty all yellow and black with pumpkins, Jack-o-lanterns, spiders, ghosts, goblins, scarecrows and other assorted decorations.
    ..

    Like

  4. hello, Jim. 😀 i had my first blog at blogger com, now by Google. i had a hard time dealing with the customization of the theme designs so i transferred to WordPress.com but unfortunately i cannot have adverts. the movement was limited so i decided to have my site hosted but with the WordPress platform.

    the celebration here for November 1 is mostly Catholic in origin, too. 🙂

    hi, blogger broadcast. 😀 thanks for the visit. October fest is interesting, too. will look that up.

    Like

  5. We don't do so much for Halloween now that the kids are grown, but we weren't into it heavily even when they were small. Our paranoia kept us from letting the children visit the homes of people we did not know, but they received plenty of candy. I would off set things by making our own home made goodies – caramel apples, caramel corn, etc. But, they loved to dress up and that was always such fun!

    As for me, I didn't attend Halloween parties as a kid and I think I only went to a few as an adult which were hosted by our Sunday School teacher & his wife. It was a fun thing to do, but really I don't think I'm at all interested to going to such an affair these days.

    Thanks for your visit and encouragement on Thursday!

    Like

  6. Thanks for visiting Bing! My favorite thing about Halloween as an adult is making some tasty home-made goodies. When I was a kid I loved everything about it – dressing up, going door to door, being scared, EVERYTHING! As for parties, I don't recall going to any when I was a kid. I did attend a few as a young adult, though. I'm not all that big into parties. Hope y'all visit again! =D

    Like

  7. hello, Cathy! 😀 sorry for the late reply. been busy.

    i think it's the dressing up that excites the children most. as i tend to become wary about 'spooky' people, i think it would be difficult for me to let my children go, if this is being practiced here but i would definitely give in, too, with precaution, so that the children will be happy.

    thanks for reciprocating the visit. see you again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

