A Mother for 21 years already

Being a young mother that year of 1990, to carry a little child in my belly was a very new and thrilling experience.  It’s true that while I was having that baby inside and nurturing him or her, I felt all sorts of physical pain that were so new and at times frightening.

When the first baby was delivered, I was not able to see her because I was not conscious and was awake only after a few minutes and the baby was already sent to the wash room.  It was a grueling encounter while I labor.  For some, it takes more than a day to labor.  I had 16 hours.  It started 12 midnight with a frequency of an hour interval at first then gradually it became half an hour.  When I was in the labor room of the hospital, I was left alone with the nurse and another woman in labor.  I felt terrified but I had to be strong and bear the pain alone.  Funny that I was hearing wails from the other rooms, some mothers were even cussing.  I suffered in silence.

The first delivery was a success without complications.  It was a normal delivery.  I stared and stared at the angelic face.  She had hairs all over, even on the face.  They were so obvious against the milky white complexion.  I remembered an in-law telling me, “Oi, ‘it’ might melt! (Oy, baka matunaw yan!)”, and was referring to how I stare at the little child while holding her on my lap.  She was that small, only enough to be contained on the lap, but she weighed a 7.5 lbs.

Fast track to the next delivery, this time it was a placenta previa case. I will be delivering a child in an atypical condition and situation.  I was hospitalized two times before I delivered a boy via caesarian section.  We both almost didn’t make it.  The little big boy (he was 8.2 lbs and a week earlier) was not breathing when he came out.  His mouth and nostrils were filled with blood.  But he was tough, I guess, and he is already 18 years old now.

Unlike the first delivery, the second one was painless but bloody.  The nurse had endlessly replaced the bed sheet while I wait for the bloody OB-gyne to come.  She came four hours after I arrived in the hospital!

It was nice to recollect.  Amidst the hardship bringing up and rearing my children, it is always nice to recall the strength I mustered when I brought them to this world.  This is the same strength I gather to deal with the challenges I have with them up to now.

So, why do I write these things? This is to tell each child that it was not easy as eating a pie.  Every mother puts her life at stake each time she has to bring forth a child.  As the saying goes, a foot is already in the grave during the process.

Every loving and responsible mother deserves to be reciprocated of their love and sacrifice, of the things they did for their children.  Every mother deserves a hug, a kiss, even a gift if you plan to have one, or a gesture of kindness she’ll cherish.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO ALL THE MOTHERS IN THIS WORLD!

4 thoughts on “A Mother for 21 years already

  1. Happy Mother's Day! we have the same experience on our first baby (mine is my one and only) only I had 12 hours of labour and I gave birth painless as well. How time flies, she's turning 14 tomorrow, tanda na natin hehehehe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

