Do You Give Gifts on Father’s Day?

There should be a Mother’s day.  Therefore, there is a Father’s day.  Or is it the other way around?  I do not know if the premise is right but I don’t care.  The occasion requires us to buy father’s day presents it seems to me.

I have not saved money for these celebrations not because I do not give importance. Have you? Have you spent time checking on what gifts to give to your father, or to your husband who is also a father to your children? Or to any of your friends who are fathers, too? Do you celebrate the occasion like how you would to a Mother’s day?

I have not recalled in my childhood days of occasions celebrating Father’s day. Probably because there was not enough money to spend but only for the basic necessities of daily living. I don’t recall either for Mother’s day.

My father was my favorite and my idol when I was young. I remember very well the sense of humor that kept us laughing until midnight. He loved to tell stories that made us, his children, laugh our arse off. Now, I think it does not make sense to you that I had not bought gifts for a Father’s day occasion for my favorite parent. Sad it may seem but during those times, it is more about respect than giving gifts. Well, I am speaking only about my experience here. This is surely different with other families, especially the affluent.

Anyway, here is a trivia:

  • Sonora Louise Smart Dodd, of Spokane, Washington, started the tradition of Father’s Day in the honor of her dad.

  • First local Father’s Day was celebrated on June 19, 1910, in Spokane, Washington.

  • In 1916, US President Woodrow Wilson approved the idea of observing an annual Father’s Day.

  • In1924, President Calvin Coolidge made Father’s Day a national event

  • In 1966 President Lyndon Johnson signed a presidential proclamation declaring the 3rd Sunday of June as Father’s Day.

  • Father’s Day is the fifth most popular card-sending holiday, with an estimated $100 million in card sales. Husbands, grandfathers, uncles, sons and sons-in-law are honored as well as father.
2 thoughts on “Do You Give Gifts on Father’s Day?

  1. kung buhay ang tatay ko…one sloppy kiss on the cheek will do. labs ako noon kaya kahit ano, siguro okay na.

    honestly, kung buhay pa siya ngayon, siguro daily hugs at reminder na para sa akin, siya ang pinaka-guwapong tatay at pinakamahusay magsulat ng love letter sa planetang ito.

    at maniniwala siya na nakilala ko na ang lahat ng tatay sa lahat ng panig ng planeta dahil ganoon kahalaga para sa kanya ang bawat sabihin ko.

    ayan, naiyak na ako.

    Like

  2. hi, atticus. ako rin ay napaluha. tulad mo, close ako kay papa. i can tell him almost everything. we converse about a lot of things under the sun.

    sila ang mga taong di talaga malilimutan..

    Like

Leave a Reply

