The Thought of Being Disabled

In the middle of the night, I was awakened by a jolting pain in the right side of my body near the groin. It made me afraid but was able to find composure by praying to God that the pain will go away. It was gone after about ten minutes and was back again like a short and crisp pain. It was not that painful but it made me uneasy. It did not even stay for long to cause panic. But it left me wide awake.

I thought of many things. As much as I wanted to avoid thinking about morbid things (because a friend says the mind is powerful), I was not able to. I do not have disability insurance, I thought. I do not even have a life insurance. I was about to sign those papers but for varied reasons, I forgot all about it. I told myself, you have to look for that paper again and sign and start paying.

Life is unpredictable, I realized. This is probably why some people adhere to even doing the evil things to acquire money, fame, and power. They must be thinking that it could save them from unexpected times of severe illness and disability, or even from death.

I comforted myself with God’s loving words,

“And we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.” Apostle John’s statement in 1John 4:16

Then also thought of the differences of dangerous men from the rest,

“All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.” T.E. Lawrence

God always reminds me to be faithful and to put the values I learned from Him to use. Sometimes, we all forget that it is not success that truly defines a man.

“Try not to become a man of success but a man of value.” Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

