Ignorance is Bliss


She told me once that she had something to tell me and I refused to know. Ignorance is bliss. What you don’t know won’t hurt you, they say. And it’s true.

I chose not to know what a friend has to tell me because of a suspicion that something hush-hush is going between her and the boss. It is not a surprise to learn that it is true. What is surprising is for her to confirm it in a playful manner to another. What would be the motive then?

Years before, I told her that what is important is whatever one has to do, one has to bind herself to the principle of not deliberately hurting other people, or step on their shoes, or wreck their person. I thought I was clear. I thought she must have pondered on what I have said. I thought she was better than what others perceived her to be.

I gave the benefit of the doubt. Now that it’s confirmed, I felt sad. I do not know how to react when I come face to face with her. I hope she will not say a word about it. I am not ready to hear it.

I am afraid that I would be so blunt to say something that would not help. I am afraid that it would kill my feelings towards a friend. Though I know it is a personal thing, and it does not have anything to do with whatever we have, I am still not sure what effect it would give to our relationship.

13 thoughts on “Ignorance is Bliss

  1. I hate the fact that some people appear to “flaunt” their illicit affair in my presence. I know both parties are attached to other people. I don't like to see that they are infidels to their spouses/partners.

    Like

  2. it is really a difficult situation seeing them. and every time you see them, a lot of things go inside my mind, photo cache. i really feel sad that she went all the way.

    he'd been in trouble many times, bw! 😀

    Like

  3. okay iyan. huwag nang alamin.

    minsan may nag-confide sa akin ng ganyan. ang hirap kasi, kailangan ibasura mo ang built in judgment mo. dahil ikaw, you work your butt off while some make their butt work. ponyeta.

    so ang kinaya ko lang ay makinig, at magtanong. at alisin muna ang galit because clearly, she was crying for help. puro tanong lang ang ginawa ko. (ano sa tingin mo ang mangyayari? tingin mo ba may happy ending? kakayanin mo ba na ganyan, itatago ka?)

    it's of the things i learned in one of those leadership trainings i took part in.

    it proved useful. she ended it and learned her worth.

    Like

  4. well, ganun nga ang impression sa kanya – she make her butt work to get increases, atticus.

    and i do not intend to know. i just hope she does not confide in me. until now, i am not ready. or if ever, maybe i'll just do what you did – ang makinig.

    Like

  5. I can't believe this girl has the nerve to divulge her evil secret, I guess she has her hidden agenda….the evil is really working on her life…sana magkaisip sya na mali ang ginagawa nya tsk tsk tsk!

    Like

  6. i have an inkling that there is another motive why she told that to another friend, nalen. i'll keep it to myself na lang..

    Like

  7. haven't forgotten that, tk. in fact, if it were not for him, the girl will not be in that present quagmire. di mo pwede isantabi ang pagsasamantala sa kahinaan at pangangailangan.

    Like

  8. pwede pa rin, bw. paano kung me mental incapacity, or the girl is into an emotional turmoil? she is still a victim kung papatulan.. as to the flaunting, sometimes what we see is not what it's ought to be..

    Like

  9. Naku Bing, go and tell her what you think. Someone should knock her on her head and realize what she's doing. If not you, sino pa? If she thinks you're her friend that's why she's telling you, then you should also be her friend and tell her what's right.

    Like

  10. what i am afraid of is how she will take what i have to say, toe. the boss is equally flaunting and it is known fact that he takes things personally when someone crosses him. it can become a complicated issue. if i have to say something about the whole thing, my friend has to seriously confide in me not in a joking manner. the one she'd told it was having second thoughts of bringing up the issue because of the complication and the manner that it was told to her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

